Sermons 2016

Saturday, December 24, 2016 “Time To Be Registered on the Side of Goodness” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: Luke 2:1-20

Sunday, December 4, 2016 “Live Into Hope” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: Isaiah 11:1-10 & Matthew 3:1-12

Sunday, November 27, 2016 “In the Market for Peace” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: Isaiah 2:1-5

Sunday, November 20, 2016 “A Bold, Kind and Generous Love” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: Deuteronomy 6:1-9, Leviticus 19:1-2, 9-18, Mark 12:28-31

Sunday, November 13, 2016 “Bold, Kind and Generous” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: Luke 21:1-6 and Romans 12:9-18

Sunday, November 6, 2016 “The Question About the Resurrection” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: Luke 20:27-40

Sunday, October 30, 2016 “Justice at the Last” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: Habakkuk 1:1-4; 2:1-4 and Luke 19:1-10

Sunday, October 23, 2016 “Ways to Pray” Sermon by Phil Romine Scripture: Psalm 40:1-5 and Luke 18:9-14

Sunday, October 16, 2016 “Sometimes A Vision Requires Persistence” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: Psalm 46 and Luke 18:1-8

Sunday, October 9, 2016 “Faith That Can Make You Well” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: Luke 17:11-19

Sunday, October 2, 2016 “Faithful Also in Much” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: Luke 16:1-13

Sunday, September 18, 2016 “On Alert: Actions, Treasures and Our Hearts” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: Luke 12:32-40

Sunday, September 11, 2016 “Teach Us To Pray” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: Luke 11:1-13.

Sunday, September 4 “The Art of Paying Attention” Sermon by Phil Romine Scripture: Jeremiah 18:1-11

Sunday, August 28 “Music and Meals” Communion Meditation by Rev. David Colby

Sunday, August 21, 2016 “The Danger of Singing In Church” Sermon by Rev. Adam Copeland Scripture: John 3:22-36, Proverbs 2:1-11

Sunday, August 7, 2016 “Streams of Mercy” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: 1 Samuel 7:12, Psalm 46:1-7, Luke 15:3-7

Sunday, July 31, 2016 “Who Am I…?” Sermon by Phil Romine Scripture: Exodus 3:1-11

Sunday, July 17, 2016 “Let the Questions Linger” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: Psalm 139:1-18, 23-24 and Luke 19:1-10

Sunday, July 10, 2016 “Fix In Us” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: 2 Corinthians 5:16-21

Sunday, July 3, 2016 “Faith and the Life of the Nations” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: Psalm 126 and Matthew 22:15-22

Sunday, June 26, 2016 “One Hymn, Two Voices” Sermon by Rev. David Colby Scripture: Isaiah 6:1-8

Sunday, June 19, 2016 “You’re Not From Around Here, Are You?” Sermon by Rev. Casey Wells Scripture: Isaiah 58:6-12 and Luke 4:14-21

Sunday, June 12, 2016 “I’m Too Young for These Old Things” Sermon by Rev. Jeff Japinga Scripture: Psalm 9

Sunday, June 5, 2016 “A Wretch Like Me” Sermon by Rev. David D. Colby Scripture: 1 Chronicles 17:16-17 and Ephesians 1:3-14

Sunday, May 15, 2016 “The Birth and Rebirth of the Church”  Communion Meditation by Rev. David D. Colby   Scripture: Acts 2:1-21

Sunday, May 8, 2016   “The Gospel Goes to Jail”  Sermon by Rev. David D. Colby   Sunday, May 8, 2016

Sunday, May 1, 2016 “A Church by the River” Sermon by Rev. David D. Colby     Scripture: Acts 16:9-15

Sunday, April 24, 2016  “The World In Our Care” Sermon by Rev. David D. Colby Scripture: Genesis 2:18 – 20a and Psalm 148

April 10, 2016  “Trouble in Damascus”   Sermon by Rev. Marilyn Casey Wells  Scripture: Acts 9:1-20

Easter Sunday, March 27, 2016 “Back to the Boat”  Sermon by Rev. David D. Colby      Scripture: Acts 10:34-43 and John 21:1-19

Maundy Thursday, March 24, 2016 “At the Table with Jesus: The Last Supper (cont.)” Sermon by Rev. David D. Colby    Scripture: John 13:2b – 15, 31b – 35

Palm Sunday, March 20, 2016 “At the Table with Jesus: The Last Supper” Sermon by Rev. David D. Colby   Scripture: Luke 22:14-23

March 6, 2016 “At the Table with Jesus: An Unlikely Dinner Party” Sermon by Rev. David D. Colby  Scripture: Luke 15:1-3; 11b-32 and John 6:1-14

February 28  “At the Table With Jesus: Sometimes Patience Is Required”  Rev. Colby. Scripture: Psalm 32 and Luke 13:6-9

February 21 “At the Table with Jesus: Rich Feasts Abound”  Sermon by Rev. David D. Colby  Scripture: Isaiah 55:1

February 14 — “At the Table With Jesus: Sometimes Patience Is Required”  Sermon by Rev. David D. Colby. Scripture: Isaiah 58:1

February 7 — “Glimpses of Glory” Sermon by Rev. David D. Colby. Scripture: Exodus 34:29